2015 Certified EHR FAQs

2015 Certified EHR FAQs

2019 has ushered in new CMS requirements for hospitals, practices and providers. One over-arching change is the requirement to use your vendor’s Certified 2015 Edition EHR. However, not all vendors have achieved or pursued 2015 EHR certification. Below are some FAQs on the topic.

Why Is 2015 Certification Important?

2015 Certified EHRs are REQUIRED to meet 2019 CMS requirements. If you don’t meet this requirement, penalties apply.

What Is The 2015 Certified EHR Deadline?

October 3, is the EHR 2015 deadline to meet 2019 CMS requirements.

You must be using a 2015 Certified EHR to meet 2019 requirements by this date. However, we recommend you select a certified EHR no later than April 2019. In fact, for many hospital EHR systems, it’s already too late, but thanks to Azalea’s ease of use and market leading implementation process, we can still get your hospital compliant by October 3. Be sure to ask timelines when evaluating EHR vendors.

2015 Certified EHR Penalty Timeline

Yes. Penalties vary based on your facility type and program participation. Reductions range from 1% to 2.9%. For example, a hospital with $4M in Medicare revenue could lose $116k for not meeting 2019 reporting requirements.

Who Needs To Use 2015 Certified EHRs?

The requirement applies to all hospitals participating in Meaningful Use (now call Promoting Interoperability) and all ambulatory providers participating in QPP MIPS. You can read more on the CMS site.

How Do I Know If My EHR Vendor Is Certified?

Search for your vendor or EHR name. Look for a 2015 Edition. Click here to search. 2014 Editions do not satisfy requirements in 2019. Azalea Health EHR is 2015 certified for ambulatory and inpatient EHR.


Scroll to Top